Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Brainstorm keywords! You might think TANF, but the databases use different search terms: public welfare, rent subsidies, welfare recipients, poor families, government policy, food stamps, poor... Family/group dynamics are called: family relations, family relationships, interpersonal relations, parent & child, social groups, ethnic groups, group identity, characters of groups...
- Search by subject field! The subject poverty retrieved 12,486 results, while the keyword poverty retrieved 27,822 results.
- Limit by population of interest: children, older people, teenage mothers, low-income mothers, depressed persons, inner cities, neighborhoods, african americans, hispanic americans, people with disabilities, urban poor, victims of crimes...
Recommended Databases for SWK
SocINDEX with Full Text
Full text of journal articles on social work, sociology, criminal justice, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, family studies, and substance abuse
Social Science Full Text
Full-text articles from more than 330 journals in the social sciences.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full-text articles and books on counseling, child & adolescent psychology and other areas of psychology
Scholarly & professional journals, chapters, books, and more indexed and summarized in this international resource
Full-text of over 1,700 scientific, medical, and social sciences journals from Elsevier publishing.
Full text articles from more than 1,700 journals in Education fields with coverage back to 1929.
Medline with Full Text
Full text of medical journals in all areas of medicine and health care.
Full text of major business periodicals including articles on public relations and organizational communication
These databases may also have articles helpful to your social work research.
Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly