Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Newspaper Databases
Try these databases first to find articles in many national and international newspapers, searching across many titles at once.
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text of 1,570 national and international newspapers.
Includes full-text coverage of the Plattsburgh Press Republican and Watertown Daily Times. Full-text coverage of New York and national printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Full text of 150 national and international newspapers.
Full text of 27 newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, & other key U.S., international, and minority interest papers.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Excellent source for newspaper articles. Choose News tab to select specific types or titles of newspapers.
New York State Newspapers
Full text of ten major New York State newspapers, including the New York Times and the New York Post
New York State Historic Newspapers
Full text, digitized copies of New York newspapers from all over the state. Search by county or town, newspaper, date, or keyword. Freely available with no login needed.
Full text of historic American newspapers, 1836-1922. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Finding Articles in Specific Newspapers
To find articles from specific newspapers, go to the Journals A-Z search. Type the newspaper name in the search box and click Search.
The results of the search will show you which databases have full-text coverage for the newspaper. Clicking on the title of the newspaper, or the blue plus sign next to Full Text Access, will show you the databases with dates for full text coverage.
Click on the database name to go to the newspaper within the database. From there, you can browse by date and issue, or do a keyword search within that newspaper.
Search for specific newspaper titles here by typing the newspaper name in the search box. Results contain full text database coverage.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2013. Full-text of the New York Times from 1980 to the present may be found under the link for New York Times.
Ask a Librarian
Need research help -- or just have a question? Ask a librarian!