Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Keep a running list of potential search terms in an index card.
- Always note the subjects listed in the subjects field below the articles in the results lists. Add these to your index card.
- Add an asterisk to a root word like Buddhis* - it will search for Buddhism, Buddhist, Buddhists all at the same time
- Change the drop-down menu next to the search box to Abstract, Subject, or Geographic location. These are much more specific than Keyword and this strategy will save you time!
- If there are references at the end of a great article, use those references to further your research.
- Never limit your search to full-text- the Link to Full Text option often sends you to the article you want (in a different database).
- If the full-text of an article you want is unavailable, request it via Interlibrary Loan.
- The citation for an article is often provided by the database, but always compare it to examples provided by another source like Purdue's OWL.
Gateway to FullText@MyLibrary
Recommended Databases for Religion
Try these databases first to find articles related to religion topics.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Full text articles about world religions and topics in philosophy
SocINDEX with Full Text
Full text of journal articles on sociology, criminal justice, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, family studies, social work and substance abuse
Social Science Full Text
Full-text articles from more than 330 journals in the social sciences.
Full-text scholarly journals covering many fields in the humanities and social sciences
Academic Search Complete
A good place to start when looking for full text, scholarly articles on all subjects.
Contains articles from more than 2,000 journals in humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Full-text of over 1,700 scientific, medical, and social sciences journals from Elsevier publishing.
These resources may also have articles helpful to your religion research.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Freely available electronic texts of religion, mythology, legends, folklore, occult, and esoteric topics, in English and the original language when available. Not sponsored by any religious group or organization.
The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
Data, charts, graphs, and analysis of surveys about religion in the U.S. and around the world.
The Berkley Center for Religion, Peace and World Affairs
Part of Georgetown University (a Catholic and Jesuit institution), the Center focuses on the interdisciplinary study of religion, ethics, and public life. Features topics in religion and overviews of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism.
Center for Applied Research in the Apostolate (CARA)
Part of Georgetown University (a Catholic and Jesuit institution), the Center conducts social science research about the Catholic Church.
The Hartford Institute for Religion Research
Part of the Hartford Seminary, which is non-denominational, has a center for Islam and Christian-Muslim relations, and a Muslim chaplaincy program. This site presents research done by current Institute faculty and other sociologists of religion. Focuses mainly on Christianity with some research on Islam. Includes statistics and directories.
Ask a Librarian
Need research help -- or just have a question? Ask a librarian!