Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Brainstorm keywords! You might think "child abuse," but the databases use different and/or related search terms: child sexual abuse; psychological abuse; child abuse -- Investigation; child welfare; family violence; sex crimes; child welfare; child protection services; sexually abused children; child rape victims; child sexual abuse -- Investigation; child pornography; child victims; psychological child abuse; psychologically abused children; abused children; battered child syndrome; children-- Crimes against; youth-- Crimes against; parent & child; etc...
- Search by subject field! The subject "child abuse" retrieved 10,779 results, while the keyword "child abuse" retrieved 34,594 results.
- Limit by population of interest: at-risk students, low-income mothers, homeless children, inner cities, teenagers & violence, african american children, hispanic american children, sexually abused teenagers, fathers, mothers, ex-foster children, stepfamilies, birthparents, runaway children, alcoholism, unemployment...
Recommended Databases for HED487
Try these databases first to find articles related to child abuse & neglect research.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Full text of journal articles on sociology, criminal justice, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, family studies, social work and substance abuse
Scholarly & professional journals, chapters, books, and more indexed and summarized in this international resource
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full-text articles and books on counseling, child & adolescent psychology and other areas of psychology
Full text articles from more than 1,700 journals in Education fields with coverage back to 1929.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Full text articles in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and wellness.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Full text of medical journals in all areas of medicine and health care.
Full-text access to over 7,000 legal, business, and news sources
Virtual Reference Library
Full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Find pros and cons on current issues, including overviews, statistics, primary sources, websites, and full-text articles.
Academic Search Complete
A good place to start when looking for full text, scholarly articles on all subjects.
Ask for Help!
You can request a research appointment with a librarian by filling in the form at:
Ask a Librarian
Need research help -- or just have a question? Ask a librarian!