Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clinton County, NY
Website for Clinton County government. Look on the right side of the page for a listing of county departments.
City of Plattsburgh
Website for the city of Plattsburgh. Find information about history, recreation, city departments, and more. Look under the "Government" section.
New York State
The official website of New York.
New York State Government Information
From the New York State Library. Provides links to NY state agencies, publications, laws, and more.
New York State Statistical Yearbook
Published yearly by the Rockefeller Institute of Government, this publication has chapters and statistics by topic like Education, Housing, and Transportation. Data mostly presented by borough or county.
New York State Library
This library serves the government and residents of New York State. Includes a Braille and Talking Book library for the blind, links to state documents, bibliographies, and more.
The Book of the States
This yearly publication collects information about all 56 U.S. states, commonwealths, and territories.
The White House
Official website of the President and executive branch. See daily President and Vice-President schedules, photographs, executive offices and cabinets, and initiatives.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Online access to official publications released the White House. Includes remarks, weekly addresses, press releases, links to State of the Union speeches, from 1993-present. Updated daily.
From the Federal Register. Contains executive orders searchable by year, President, subject, and keyword for 1937-present.
Executive Branch Websites
from the Library of Congress. Links to all official executive branch websites, by department.
Search current or all legislation by keywords or numbers. You can also search members, committee reports and videos, treaties, House and Senate calendars, and floor activities.
United States Courts
Provides information, statistics, and court reports on the federal courts, which are: the Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, district courts, bankruptcy courts, and Article I courts (which include courts of appeals for veterans claims and armed forces, and tax court).
Code of Federal Regulations
Annual official edition of all the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments of the federal government.
IRS Tax Forms
Forms, instructions, and publications for doing your federal taxes.
Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, politics, and commerce. Coverage from 1983-2015.
Federal Search Engines and Repositories
Access to government information by topic and agency.
Provides online access to official publications of the 3 branches of federal government: executive, legislative, and judicial. Includes ways to search and browse by collection.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
A way to search electronic & print publications from the federal government. Electronic sources are directly linked and links to find print sources in depository libraries are available. Contains publications from 1976-present and will grow to include those published before 1976.
Search for pre-1976 government documents here.
Find statistics about the US population.
Provides access to Census data. Searchable by community, topic, and more.
A clearinghouse for federal statistics. Provides links to agency statistics websites, and RSS feeds for new releases of agency data.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Find, download, and use government data sets.
Interesting Government Websites
NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory
This beautiful site won a 2015 Webby and People's Voice awards for best government website.
from the Library of Congress. Links to declassified documents at the CIA, FBI, and Department of State, and to outside transparency groups.
Information for Voters and Constituents
House of Representatives-Directory of Representatives
Lists all representatives by state & district or name. Includes office phone numbers and committees.
Senators of the 115th Congress
Lists Senators by name. Use the drop-down menus to search by state or by senator. Includes address, phone numbers, and contact form links.
The Center for Responsive Politics is a nonpartisan nonprofit that tracks money in the US election cycle and government. Search by ZIP code for your representatives, find data on interest groups and Super PACs, search by donor, see who is donating money to which politicians.
Project Vote Smart
General, non-partisan information on United States government, elections, candidates and voting. Includes VoteEasy, a way to find the candidate that matches your beliefs.
US Relations with Foreign Governments
US Department of State Country Pages
Bilateral relations fact sheets, embassy information, maps, and more on official US relationships with other countries.
CIA World Factbook
Country comparison data from the CIA's world fact book. Includes maps, world leader biographies, and historical collections.
International Government Statistics
These databases may also have articles helpful to your local, state, federal and international government research.
Ask a Librarian
Need research help -- or just have a question? Ask a librarian!