Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching strategies and tips
When searching for articles be aware that some databases like, PsychInfo, use "controlled vocabulary" similar to the Library of Congress subject headings. It is a good practice when you see a relevant article, to note the subject term(s) to provide additional search strategies.
Recommended Databases for Gender & Women's Studies
Try these databases first to find articles related to Gender & Women's Studies topics
LGBT Life with Full Text
Provides full text access to the most important LGBT journals.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Provides a perspective on women's social movements throughout U.S. history via primary documents, collections interpreting the documents, a definitive bibliography, related web links, a Dictionary of Social Movements, and a collection of relevant images.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Full text of journal articles on sociology, criminal justice, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, family studies, social work and substance abuse
Social Science Full Text
Full-text articles from more than 330 journals in the social sciences.
Additional GWS Magazine & Journals in the Library
Canadian Women's Studies
GLQ : A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health
Journal of Lesbian Studies
Journal of LGBT Youth
You can access these periodicals using the Journals A-Z link below.
Ask a Librarian
Need research help -- or just have a question? Ask a librarian!