Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing Reference Resources
MedicineNet.com-Health and Medical information produced by Doctors
Owned and operated by WebMD, this is a trusted site that "MedicineNet is an online, healthcare media publishing company. We provide easy-to-read, in-depth, authoritative medical information for consumers via its robust, user-friendly, interactive website."
"one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers."
"Welcome to healthfinder.gov, a government website where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy."
Medical Calculators from Up-to-date
"UpToDate® is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,300 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. "
What is a reference resource?
A reference resource, also known as a background resource, can be an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, a subject encyclopedia such as a maternal nursing encyclopedia or a medical dictionary. Reference resources provide overviews of topics that can range from a brief paragraph to 4-5 pages, a definition, or description. While Wikipedia may have some entries that are accurate and useful, many faculty prefer their students to use reference sources in the library. In college, using a subject encyclopedia provides additional information compared to general encyclopedias like Britannica or World Book. While there are a number of reference resources in print (physical format); we have access to many resources through two publishers, Gale and Credo. In the medical/nursing area both resources are worth searching. The links can be found by clicking the digital Reference Resources link in the Reference Resource box.