Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Try these databases first to find articles on your topic!
America: History & Life
Articles on history of the United States and Canada indexed and summarized
Contains scholarly articles from more than 1,300 journals in humanities, social sciences and sciences.
250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers covering many fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Canadian Reference Centre
Full text articles, reference books, biographies and images about Canada.
Ancestry Library Edition
On-campus access only. Billions of genealogical records in more than 7,000 databases that include census data, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, etc., covering North America, the UK, Europe, Australia, and more. Date coverage is 1300-current.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Full text of journal articles on sociology, criminal justice, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, family studies, social work and substance abuse
ProQuest Research Library
Much of the content in this database duplicates the content that used to be in Communications Abstracts database.
Academic Search Complete
A good place to start when looking for full text, scholarly articles on all subjects.
Particularly helpful for forensic or physical anthropology research. Full-text of over 1,700 scientific and social sciences journals from Elsevier publishing.
Searching for Books on Immigration at Feinberg
United States: Emigration and Immigration
This link will search Feinberg's holdings for books and ebooks with the Library of Congress subject heading "United States: Emigration and Immigration." You can add other terms such as other countries, people, or publication dates.
Canada: Emigration and Immigration
This link will search Feinberg's holdings for books and ebooks with the Library of Congress subject heading "Canada: Emigration and Immigration." You can add other terms such as other countries, people, or publication dates.
Oxford Companion to United States History
From the publisher: "Here is a volume that is as big and as varied as the nation it portrays. With over 1,400 entries written by some 900 historians and other scholars, it illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion."
Oxford Companion to Canadian History
From the publisher: "This is the essential reference title for all those interested in Canadian History. From the Norse to Nunavut, The Oxford Companion to Canadian History provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, places, and people that have shaped Canada from earliest times to the present."
Journals Recommended by Professor Richard