Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice Research Guide

Online Encyclopedias For Criminal Justice

The following e-encyclopedias are available through either the Gale Virtual Reference Library, CREDO, or SpringerLink subscription databases unless otherwise noted.  Click on the titles to connect to a Table of Contents and search box for that specific source.

21st Century Criminology  (2009)

American Law Yearbook, 2011 ed.  (2012)

Corporate Hacking and Technology-Driven Crime  (2011)

Crime and Punishment: Essential Primary Sources  (2006)

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, 2nd ed.  (2002)

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity  (2005)

Encyclopedia of Global Justice  (2011) 

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law  (2008)

Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, 2nd ed.  (2006)

Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law  (2002)

National Survey of State Laws  (2005)

West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd ed.  (2004)

World of Criminal Justice  (2002)

World of Forensic Science  (2005)

Print Encyclopedias

All of the following encyclopedias are located in the Reference Room on the 2nd floor of Feinberg Library unless otherwise noted.

Crime and the Justice System in America: An Encyclopedia  (1997)  [located in the General Collection]

Encyclopedia of American Prisons  (2003)

Encyclopedia of Criminology  (2005)

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior  (2001)

Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime-Fighting  (2004)

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice  (2003)

Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime  (2005)

Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States  (2005)

What is Background Information?

Background Information gives you an introduction to a topic. It's what you'll find when you look up "Restorative Justice" in an encyclopedia, for example.  Knowing some basics about a topic helps you focus on what's interesting to you.  So...get a few facts, details, names and terms about your topic...then decide in which direction to go.