Skip to main content

MLA Style Guide: Works-Cited Lists

General Notes for MLA Works-Cited Lists

Here are some fundamental guidelines that apply to all MLA citations in a Works-Cited list:

  • All entries must be double-spaced and use a hanging indent.
  • Two authors: Key, Keegan-Michael and Jordan Peele.
  • Three or more authors: Ochoa, Ellen, et al. [“et al.” is Latin for “and others”]
  • DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers): use whenever available and instead of URLs/permalinks.
  • URLs/Permalinks: remove any http:// or https:// that may appear in front of a web address.

This guide includes the core elements outlined the 8th Edition of the MLA Handbook. Consult with your instructor to see if any optional elements are required for your work.

Citing Books in MLA Style

Single author

Echterling, Lennis G. Thriving: A Manual for Students in the Helping Professions. Sage, 2016.

Chapter in an online book

Hurst, Allison L. “Should I Stay or Should I Go?” College and the Working Class: What It Takes to Make It. Sense Publishers, 2012, pp. 43-64. SpringerLink, link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-94-6091-752-3_3.

Corporation/organizational author (no personal author)

Survival Guide for Undocumented Students. U of California Berkeley Multicultural Community Center, 2015.

Editor as author

Bretag, Tracey A., editor. Handbook of Academic Integrity. Springer Reference, 2016.

Online encyclopedia article

Foley, Carrie. “Time Management.” Encyclopedia of Business and Finance. 3rd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2014, pp. 739-741. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX3727500312&v=2.1&u=plattsbg_main&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w&asid=3c7514f167c143f258b356fb7de8fbf2.

Citing Articles in MLA Style

Magazine article in print

Van Auken, Julian. “Relating Student Leadership Experiences to Professional Goals.” Campus Activities Programming, vol. 48, no. 8, 2016, pp. 18-21.

Newspaper article online

Dynarski, Susan. “How to Help More College Students Graduate.” New York Times, 19 Feb. 2016. www.nytimes.com/2016/02/21/upshot/how-to-help-more-college-students-graduate.html?partner=bloomberg.

Journal article with a DOI from a library database

Etzel, Julian M., and Gabriel Nagy. “Students’ Perceptions Of Person–Environment Fit: Do Fit Perceptions Predict Academic Success Beyond Personality Traits?” Journal of Career Assessment, vol. 24, no. 2, 2016, pp. 270-288. PsycINFO, dx.doi.org/10.1177/1069072715580325.

Journal article w/ 3 authors (no DOI, use permalink) from a library database

Johnson, Marques, et al. “A Residence Life Plan for Success for At-Risk College Students: Reviving in Loco Parentis.” College Student Journal, vol. 50, no. 2, 2016, pp. 268-274. Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=pbh&AN=116190977&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Citing Multimedia in MLA Style

DVD

College: The Other Costs. Directed by Frank Leseigneur, narrated by Martha Mellinger. Giraf Productions, 2016.

Online video

Dula, Chris S. Study Skills, Time Management & Test-Taking Strategies for College Students. East Tennessee State University, 2014. youtu.be/pInmBkwz7KY.

Audio CD

Davies, Rick. Siempre Salsa. Emlyn Music, 2006.

MP3 file

Malenczak, Derek. “Episode 19: College Students and the 7 Habits.” College Student Success Podcast. 2015. www.collegestudentsuccesspodcast.com/2015/11/episode-19-college-students-and-the-7-habits/.

Citing Web Pages in MLA Style

Web page, individual author

Morrison, Debbie. “Five-Step Strategy for Student Success with Online Learning.” Online Learning Insights, 28 Sept. 2012. onlinelearninginsights.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/five-step-strategy-for-student-success-with-online-learning/.

Web page, corporation/organizational author (no personal author)

“Six Tips for College Health and Safety.” CDC Features: Healthy Living. United States. Department of Health and Human Services. Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 7 March 2016. www.cdc.gov/features/collegehealth/.

Citing Other Sources in MLA Style

Class handout

Davis, Julia. CLG554- Quantitative Research Methods. State University of New York College at Plattsburgh, Fall 2016. Handout.

PowerPoint presentation

Thiede, Malina. LIB200- How to Select a Research Topic. State University of New York College at Plattsburgh, 11 Dec. 2015. Power Point Slides.

Citation Guides and Examples