LibGuides: HDF421: Adolescence & Society: Find Articles

Keyword FAQs

Brainstorm keywords! You might think 'teens', but the databases use different search terms: teenagers, adolescent, adolescence, youth, ...
Search by subject field! The subject poverty retrieved 12,486 results, while the keyword poverty retrieved 27,822 results.
Limit by population of interest: children, youth, teenage mothers, low-income mothers, homeless teenagers, inner cities, teenagers & violence, african americans, hispanic americans, sexually abused teenagers, poor teenagers, ex-foster children...

Use these databases first to find articles related to human development & family relations topics.

SocINDEX with Full Text
Full text of journal articles on sociology, criminal justice, gender studies, ethnic & racial studies, family studies, social work and substance abuse
Social Science Full Text
Full-text articles from more than 330 journals in the social sciences.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full-text articles and books on counseling, child & adolescent psychology and other areas of psychology
Education Source
Full text articles from more than 1,700 journals in Education fields with coverage back to 1929.
ScienceDirect
Full-text of over 1,700 scientific, medical, and social sciences journals from Elsevier publishing.
PsycINFO
Scholarly & professional journals, chapters, books, and more indexed and summarized in this international resource

These databases may also have articles helpful to your HDFR research.

ProQuest Research Library
Information from over 2,600 periodicals and newspapers on a wide range of topics.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start when looking for full text, scholarly articles on all subjects.
Education Research Complete
Full text articles in all areas of education, early childhood to higher education, multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, & educational administration