Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Databases
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive
The world's largest archive on the history of slavery with more than 5 million searchable pages from books, pamphlets, periodicals, newspapers, court cases, etc.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Provides a perspective on women's social movements throughout U.S. history via primary documents, collections interpreting the documents, a definitive bibliography, related web links, a Dictionary of Social Movements, and a collection of relevant images.
Women's Issues and Identities
Provides access to history from the female perspective and world wide coverage of primary literature.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millenial Edition
The online version of a standard resource for historical statistics about many aspects of the United States. Includes downloadable tables that you can customize for research and class presentations.
House of Commons (U.K.) 19th Century Parliamentary Papers
More than 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1801-1900, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. For detailed information on searching HCPP, see http://proquest.libguides.com/parliamentary/about
Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 3: British Theatre
Covers British theatre, music & literature. Has primary source literature from 1800 - 1900.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection Series 1-5
Full text content from many North American periodicals published from 1684 - 1912 with a single search. Also includes some journals from Britain. View the full contents
Ancestry Library Edition
On-campus access only. Billions of genealogical records in more than 7,000 databases that include census data, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, etc., covering North America, the UK, Europe, Australia, and more. Date coverage is 1300-current.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English Books Online is the definitive online collection of early printed works in English and works printed in England.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Contains every significant English language title printed in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800.
Gale Primary Sources
Search the full text of Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspapers, The Times of London Digital Archive, Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 3: British Theatre, Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1, and Women's Issues and Identities.
LitFinder allows you to access over 135,000 poems, stories and plays in full-text.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
More than 3 million articles from over 550 leading magazines, covering the years 1890-1982.
American History in Video
Big collection of video (documentaries, newsreels, archival film) providing primary resources on the United States and its history
The ARTstor Charter Collection currently contains approximately 300,000 images. The Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.