LibGuides: ENG101: Composition Research Guide: Find Articles

Helpful ENG101 Databases

Academic Search Complete
A good database to search for full text, scholarly articles on all subjects.
Humanities International Complete
Full-text articles on literature and language, ethics, history, religion and the arts.
JSTOR
Full-text access to articles from 1,300 journals in humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
A good place to look for information on social issues from a variety of perspectives.
U.S. Newsstream
Full text of 27 newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, & other key U.S., international, and minority interest papers.
ProQuest Research Library
Another good place to start with lots of suggestions for search words to use.

Popular vs. Scholarly

Instructors often ask students to find scholarly articles for their research papers. For most research papers, scholarly articles are the preferred sources for supporting a thesis statement. Distinguishing scholarly sources from other types of sources can often be confusing, so take a look at the web page linked below to help you distinguish the differences.

Types of Periodicals
from Calhoun Community College

Find the full-text fast with 360 Link

When a database you're searching doesn't give you the full-text of an article you want, simply click the green polka dot beneath the article citation. The 360 Link system will reveal whether the article you want is available in any other library databases. If not, you can use ILLiad to place an interlibrary loan request for the article.

Google Scholar

Gateway to FullText@MyLibrary