Skip to main content
SWK304: Social Work in a Comparative Perspective
Enter Search Words
SWK304: Social Work in a Comparative Perspective: Background Info
Find Books, Movies & More
Citing & Research Help
Background Info on Countries
Country Studies from the Library of Congress
World Bank Development Reports
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
World Development Indicators (The World Bank)
Very data rich resource
U.S. State Department: Major State Department Publications
Publications on international issues including terroism, narcotics, religion, and human trafficking.
Virtual Reference Library
Full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
CREDO Reference Collection
Full text of reference books in all major subjects, and images (art, diagrams, maps, and photos)
International Centre for Prison Studies
The Centre is able to call on expert advisers from around the world who between them are representative of the best academic thinking on punishment and imprisonment and of the widest practical experience in the criminal justice field.
US Dept of State Background Notes
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.
Data-Planet: Ready Reference
Statistical information about countries (including the U.S. and individual states) population, health statistics, banking, criminal justice, etc.
CDC National Center for Health Statisics
Check FastStats, New Releases for topic ideas, includes topic searchbox
FAO Country Profiles
statistics and reports from the UN Food and Agriculture Organization
Statistical Abstract of the United States
UNdata A World of Information
Includes data from 35 databases including data from the Millennium Development Goals Database.
Helpful Online Encyclopedias
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Countries and Their Cultures
After you find the article about your country, make sure you look at the "Marriage, Family, and Kinship" section.
Find Articles >>
Sep 12, 2017 1:14 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.