Skip to main content

American Medical Association (AMA) Style LibGuide for Nutrition: Alternative Citation help resources

Basic tips and citation options for paper structure and creating reference lists,

Using Google Docs for AMA citations

Zotero

Zoterobib

Citation assistance in library databases

 

Our library databases, provide citation assistance. The citations are around 75% correct, so you can save some extra typing, but you want want to make sure all of the required information is included in the citation, so double check and fix the incorrect part. Some of the mistakes that may occur include, institutional affiliation, words such as original article, review, missing issue, page numbers, and doi. It is recommended, that you look at the full text article itself to verify the information.

 

 

Pubmed

"PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubMed comprises over 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources."  https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/#pubmedhelp.PubMed_Quick_Start

 

To learn more about resources available through PubMed, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed

Their quick start guide is available at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/#pubmedhelp.PubMed_Quick_Start

PubMed can be accessed through Databases by title as well as online.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/

https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed.html

NCBI Minute: Automate PubMed Searches & Save Citation Collections with My NCBI

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides access to scientific and biomedical databases, software tools for analyzing molecular data, and performs research in computational biology. Here is a video on extracting citations from PubMed and using a NCBI account.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXY5P4C_2l4