Skip to main content
Popular Culture Research Guide
Enter Search Words
Popular Culture Research Guide: Web Resources
Find Books & More
Citing & Research Help
Search Google Scholar
General & Historical Popular Culture Websites
Americana: The Journal of American Popular Culture, 1900-Present
Cultural Politics' Resources for Critical Analysis
Provides critical analysis of popular culture in the US, as well as resources on various forms of popular culture, including music, film, television, advertising, sports, fashion, toys, magazines and comic books, and cyberculture.
Bowling Green State Univ. Browne Popular Culture Library
Strong collection in popular fiction, entertainment, graphic arts, and more.
BGSU includes a Department of Popular Culture.
Duke Univ. Archives
Thousands of still and moving images including topics such as advertising (Advertising Collections) and sheet music (Historic American Sheet Music).
Collections are listed under "Popular Collections" on right side of screen.
American Memory Project from the Library of Congress
Primary sources throughout American history.
Aggregates reviews of movies, TV, games, and music.
Remember pet rocks?
Movies and Television
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (The Oscars)
The database contains more than 3,000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music, & movie star ephemera.
Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
Contains credits for movies and television shows, as well as biographical information, box office, and more.
National Film Preservation Board
Includes the National Film Registry, an annual list of 25 American films "of enduring importance." This site contains resources about film, TV, preservation, legislation, and careers.
The Paley Center for Media
Contains nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements, and an online database of program/episode synopses, along with production credits for the programs.
UCLA Film & Television Archive
Searchable online collection of films, television programs, newsreels and audio recordings.
Historic American Newspapers - Chronicling America
From the Library of Congress: Chronicling America allows you to "search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922."
Life Magazine (in Google Books) from 1936-1972
Newspaper Archive Sources on the Web (Library of Congress)
U.S. and International Newspapers.
Contains nearly 500,000 images of comic book, book, pulp fiction, games, DVD & magazine covers.
Reviews, biographies, discographies, and more. Searchable by artist, song, album, genre, and mood.
Contains classical music timelines, composer biographies, reviews and recommendations for recordings, and basic repertoire lists.
Want to know who was on top of the charts on certain dates? The library has full-text access to Billboard magazine from 1988-present through various databases.
Popular Websites and Blogs
The Onion A.V. Club
Features, ratings, reviews, and recaps of movies, TV, games, music, books, and podcasts.
Monkey See from NPR
Popular culture news and discussion.
Includes a weekly podcast, Pop Culture Happy Hour.
Bridges academic and popular cultural writing about TV, movies, music, books, comics, and games.
Vulture from New York Magazine
Lists, recaps, reviews, articles, and more for TV, movies, music.
Ceased publishing, but archives still available. Includes sports in its popular culture coverage, as well as TV, music, movies, and more through recaps, features, reviews, podcasts, and videos.
Find Books & More
Citing & Research Help >>
May 15, 2020 3:56 PM
Login to LibApps