Skip to main content

Nutrition Research Guide: Background Info

What is Background Information?

Background Information gives you an introduction to a topic, issue, or person. It's what you're looking for when you look up "Iron Deficiency Anemia" in an encyclopedia. Knowing a little bit about something you are researching helps you focus in on what's really interesting to you!
So...get a few facts, details, names and terms about your topic...then decide in what direction your curiosity wil take you.  

Background Information for Nutrition

Feinberg Library has both in-print and online reference resources! Here are a few suggestions to get you started, use the call number at the end of each title to locate the resource in the library. Electronic resources are used by clicking on the e-link in the Feinberg catalog.  

 

Goldstein, Myrna Chandler, Food and nutrition controversies today : a reference guide /
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2009.    TX357 .G5745 2009

Bender, David A. Bender's dictionary of nutrition and food technology [electronic resource] /Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press ; Cambridge, England : Woodhead Pub., c2006. Ebook

Berdanier, Carolyn D. CRC desk reference for nutrition / Boca Raton, FL : CRC/Taylor & Francis, 2005. Ref. QP141 .B523 2005

Nutrition and well-being A to Z / Delores C.S. James, editor in chief. Detroit, Mich. : Macmillan Reference USA, c2004. Ref. RA784 .N838 2004

 Nutrition and well-being a to z [electronic resource] / Detroit, Mich. : Macmillan Reference USA, c2004. Ebook

 

 

Online Encyclopedias

 

Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus

Virtual Reference Library
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research

Encyclopedia.com
Composed of high-quality articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition

Encarta (Microsoft)
A gateway to 17,000 encyclopedia articles, multimedia, a talking dictionary, and a world atlas

CREDO Reference Collection [Link to overview and features ] Was Xreferplus Reference Collection
Contains over 2 million entries from reference books in all major subjects, 65,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps, and photos), and over 93,000 audio pronunciation files.